Firefly 6

Restricting access until the new academic year

You may want to include the new academic year's timetables and groups without displaying this to students and parents.

Before you switch to next year's data, you will need to change your profile permission settings to make sure it does not appear in the Firefly for Teachers or Firefly for Students apps.These steps should be followed before publishing new data from the MIS.

First, please make sure that you take a note (or a screenshot) of your current permission settings so you can easily set them back.

  1. Navigate to a profile and select Profile permissions.
  2. Select Profiles.
  3. Set the permissions for profiles:
    • set Access to all to Staff & Firefly Administrators
    • set Selective access to none (leave all deselected)
  4. Select Profile Permissions: Profiles to save your changes.
  5. Select Timetable.
  6. Set the permissions for timetables:
    • set Access to all to Staff & Firefly Administrators
    • set Selective access to none (leave all deselected)
  7. Select Profile Permissions: Timetable.

Your profile permissions are set. Once you're ready for new information to be displayed, you can simply revert the profile permissions back to their original settings.

Set a date in the diary before term starts to set these back to their previous settings!